to

Posted: January 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

We all go to gym everyday (ok maybe not, I am being a bit overzealous here) to train. We like doing the things that come easy to us. Like bench press on a Monday, yip, I know we just love to lie on our backs and push heavy weights, because it is easy (some days) and it is familiar. But is the bench press something that you hate doing? Nope, usually not. Is it something you struggle with? Never! Bench press is so straight forward. Is it something that you need? Well if you are so good at it, why do you need it to become better?

Ooh, tricky.

So what don’t you like doing? Squatting? Yes, squatting is hard. How often do you squat? Not a lot hey. What is the reason? I don’t like it. I struggle with it. It hurts. So, I am not good at it. And bingo, you have just figured out what you need to focus on when you train, what you need to work on to get better and what your body is actually telling you, hey, you, this is what I need to become a better you.

So quickly, just go and write down all the stuff in the gym that you hate. It is usually the things that you skip but you know you have to do. Maybe you struggle to touch your toes. Then go into the gym every day and go touch your toes. You will become better at touching your toes and your body will thank you for it. Do you want to do a pull up? Then go in and do a pull up or six every day you train.  You will get your pull up eventually if you keep at it. And you know what? You know this.  I am just here to remind you quickly that if you want to become better at something, you have to do it on a regular basis to win.

I want to deadlift double bodyweight. Why? Because that is a good standard for strength. I can do a little bit over bodyweight at the moment. Do I work at it? Yes. Do I do it enough? NO! Why? I am human and I also venture to the things I like. I like the kettlebell swing. I love it and I want to do it all the time. Am I good at it? Probably a little bit. This makes me very efficient at the kettlebell swing, I don’t burn a lot of calories while doing them because my body became so used to doing things. So what am I to do? Go do something that I absolutely suck at. Something that will suck the air out of my lungs in records time and will make me double over and make me doubt my sanity and then of course go deadlift.

Ok, this is a bit tongue in cheek but essentially this is what it is about. Do what you suck at and do it often. And that is that. No secrets or magic pills. Just push push and get better

Leave a Reply

